What appears to be an image of a promotional poster that appeared on NeoGAF today reveals that Nintendo's New 3DS XL will launch in North America on February 13, 2015. The portable, which was first announced in August 2014, went on sale in Japan and Australia late last year.

The New Nintendo 3DS (yes, that's really the name), includes a long list of new features, including an analog nub, additional ZL and ZR shoulder buttons, improved 3D, integrated NFC support for Amiibo, a faster CPU, and replaceable cover plates.

For lots more on the New Nintendo 3DS, check out the video above.

Today's New Nintendo 3DS release date rumor comes less than a day before Nintendo is scheduled to hold its latest Nintendo Direct video briefing. In announcing the event last night, Nintendo said the focus of the event would be spring 2015 Wii U and 3DS games, though of course this doesn't rule out discussion of other topics, likely potentially the New Nintendo 3DS launch date.

Tomorrow's Nintendo Direct kicks off at 6 AM Pacific / 9 AM Eastern / 2 PM UK. We'll post the livestream info tomorrow, and we'll have all the news for you as it's announced.

Read original article here: