The votes are in, and Mob B – aka “The Monster of the Night Skies” has won the vote. The flying manta ray monster will be added in a future update… which we'll talk about now.

The new Mob will arrive as part of a new expansion coming to the game, dubbed The Update Aquatic, coming spring 2018.

Mojang is calling this the biggest update ever to the game's oceans, adding new creatures (including dolphins), explorable shipwrecks, and a Trident weapon that can be enchanted to add new magical abilities.

Sadly, we also got some news of updates not coming as soon as we'd hoped – the Super Duper Graphics Pack and Nintendo Switch cross-play have been delayed.

Original story: As part of its Minecon Earth event taking place this Saturday November 18, Mojang has announced that it will be holding a special event to allow fans to vote for Minecraft's next mob.

There are four options to choose from, but only one will actually make it into the game (at least for now).

The options available are in the gallery below, with descriptions below of each beneath:

Mob A, The Monster of the Ocean Depths – an ocean monster which will attempt to drown you with its “tongue-like tentacle”.

Mob B, The Monster of the Night Skies – a flying, “manta-ray-like” monster which targets players who haven't slept.

Mob C, The Great Hunger – a “cute-looking” mob  that sinks into the ground and waits for things to fill into its “huge mouth”.

Mob D, The Hovering Inferno – a master Blaze that appears in the Nether with a powerful shockwave attack.

While all of these sound delightful, it will be up to fans which one is added to the game; details on how votes will be cast have not yet been revealed, other than an instruction to tune in to the Minecon Earth livestream, which begins Saturday November 18 at 5pm GMT/ 12pm EST / 9am PST / Sunday November 19, 4am AEDT, with a pre-show starting twenty minutes before. You can watch the show here.

Mojang Is Letting Minecraft Fans Choose the Game's Next Mob